You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    

Go Back   SiNfuL iPhone > Device Specific > iPhone 3GS

Notices

iPhone 3GS iPhone 3GS Discussion | Help
NO JAILBREAKING QUESTIONS!

Reply
Thread Tools

 Help Please - iTunes saying "There is a problem with your iPhone..."
Unread 06-19-2010, 07:04 PM   #1
mark1210
n00b
 
mark1210 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help Please - iTunes saying "There is a problem with your iPhone..."

Not sure what has happened here - I keep getting "There is a problem with your iPhone - We're sorry the phone you have connected appears to be damaged....". I'm running 3.1.3 that was jailbroken. My 3GS has the old MC v bootrom. Putting the phone in DFU mode and restoring does not resolve the error. I have my SHSH blobs backup and have gone all the way back to 3.0 and still get the error.

What triggered this and how do I fix?? I've tried iTunes 9.1 on Windows 7 and iTunes 9.2 on my Mac....same issue.

I've also tried to restore to stock 3.1.3 firmware and the same iTunes screen appears saying it's damaged, the phone still functions and activates fine but its alarming and makes it rather difficult to sell...
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-19-2010, 09:12 PM   #2
kc6nsf
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
kc6nsf's Avatar
 
kc6nsf is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: iPhone 5
iOS Version: 7.1.x
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: Other
OS: Linux
Location: Nevada
Posts: 612
Thanks: 464
Thanked 54 Times in 45 Posts
Question, was the phone working and then started showing the error message?

Therei is a possibility that the phone has a bad component and it bad!

Hopefully our iPhone testers will get in on this thread and help get you going!
Living in Paradise City where the grass is greener and the girls are pretty.......
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-19-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
psychozev69
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
psychozev69's Avatar
 
psychozev69 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 3G
iOS Version: 3.1.2
iTunes Version: iTunes 9
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows 7
Location: TN
Posts: 316
Thanks: 297
Thanked 201 Times in 69 Posts
You mentioned that you tried to sync on Mac and Win7. Did you use the same usb cord to do this? If so, it may be a bad usb cord. Try this:
WiFi Sync: iPhone, iPod Touch iPad ~ Windows Guide - SiNfuL iPhone
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate/32bit
  • Motherboard: Asus P5B-Deluxe+WiFi
  • CPU: Intel® Core 2 Duo E6400/Conroe-2M(50% Overclock@3.20GHz)
  • RAM: (4)Corsair XMS2/(2)1Gb+(2)512MB DDR2(50% Overclock/4-4-4-12@400MHz)
  • HDD: (2)WDC WD2500KS SATA/Total=464GB@7,200rpm
  • Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (512Mb)






Click it if I helped.

  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 08:28 AM   #4
mark1210
n00b
 
mark1210 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've tried a different cable - the phone works fine and still activates even though iTunes says it cannot activate.

I'm wondering if something else can trigger this message...I'm running iPhone OS 4 GM now.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 09:02 AM   #5
Mr.x
Lifer -SuperMod

 
Mr.x's Avatar
 
Mr.x is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: iPhone 6+
iOS Version: 8.1.x
iTunes Version: iTunes 12
Carrier: Other
OS: Windows 7 x64
Location: Just over your Shoulder
Posts: 5,707
Thanks: 1,021
Thanked 3,842 Times in 1,629 Posts
have u tryed just seeing if it will show on some ones elses comp a friend that has itunes i know i have jailbroken several friends devices on my comp and i pop them on and it shows there device. So try maybe there is prob with itunes.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 09:06 AM   #6
mark1210
n00b
 
mark1210 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mr X : Yes, I tried it on Windows 7 and a Mac..same issue on both....interestingly enough...I tried an old deactivated SIM card...it didn't give me the error but it did say "Attempting to activate" so I don't know if it would have failed or not if the SIM card was active.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 09:17 AM   #7
psychozev69
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
psychozev69's Avatar
 
psychozev69 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 3G
iOS Version: 3.1.2
iTunes Version: iTunes 9
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows 7
Location: TN
Posts: 316
Thanks: 297
Thanked 201 Times in 69 Posts
So you are saying everything actually goes through and works, only you get an error from iTunes after the fact? I wonder if it is a corrupted bootloader? What Baseband are you running?

I say as long as the phone works right, screw iTunes.

I can understand the issue with resale though. Maybe someone with more knowledge on this subject will come in and give some insight on the issue.
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate/32bit
  • Motherboard: Asus P5B-Deluxe+WiFi
  • CPU: Intel® Core 2 Duo E6400/Conroe-2M(50% Overclock@3.20GHz)
  • RAM: (4)Corsair XMS2/(2)1Gb+(2)512MB DDR2(50% Overclock/4-4-4-12@400MHz)
  • HDD: (2)WDC WD2500KS SATA/Total=464GB@7,200rpm
  • Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (512Mb)






Click it if I helped.

  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 09:43 AM   #8
mark1210
n00b
 
mark1210 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm running 05.13.04 for the baseband...phone works just fine but yeah come resale it's going to be ugly.

How does one restore a corrupted bootloader?
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 11:13 AM   #9
psychozev69
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
psychozev69's Avatar
 
psychozev69 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 3G
iOS Version: 3.1.2
iTunes Version: iTunes 9
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows 7
Location: TN
Posts: 316
Thanks: 297
Thanked 201 Times in 69 Posts
I'd say wait till the new iOS is out and see if the new JB tools fix the issue.

Only way I know how is to update to the next BB when it comes out or wait and see if they make a way to downgrade your version. Not had to do that yet so haven't researched it.
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate/32bit
  • Motherboard: Asus P5B-Deluxe+WiFi
  • CPU: Intel® Core 2 Duo E6400/Conroe-2M(50% Overclock@3.20GHz)
  • RAM: (4)Corsair XMS2/(2)1Gb+(2)512MB DDR2(50% Overclock/4-4-4-12@400MHz)
  • HDD: (2)WDC WD2500KS SATA/Total=464GB@7,200rpm
  • Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (512Mb)






Click it if I helped.

  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to psychozev69 For This Useful Post:
mark1210 (06-20-2010)

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 05:12 PM   #10
psychozev69
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
psychozev69's Avatar
 
psychozev69 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 3G
iOS Version: 3.1.2
iTunes Version: iTunes 9
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows 7
Location: TN
Posts: 316
Thanks: 297
Thanked 201 Times in 69 Posts
Update on info:

Well, I asked for a second opinion from a very trusted individual, l8ter.
His opinion is that it does not relate to any issues he knows of to do with a bootloader.
He did say that it was not a bad idea to wait for the next FW update.
They will have a new JB tool to follow the update. Hopefully that will fix the issue.

The only other idea I can come up with is to use FuzzyBand downgrader.
On TheBigBoss repo.
Depending on your bootloader version, it can downgrade your BaseBand.
I only suggest this in maybe the possibility of the BB being corrupted.
I read that someone with a wi-fi issue was due to a corrupted BB.
He fixed it by downgrading the BB to an earlier version.
I am out of ideas at this point. I am a little over my head truth be told.
Sorta' the blind leading the blind here.
Hope you can get the problem solved my friend.
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate/32bit
  • Motherboard: Asus P5B-Deluxe+WiFi
  • CPU: Intel® Core 2 Duo E6400/Conroe-2M(50% Overclock@3.20GHz)
  • RAM: (4)Corsair XMS2/(2)1Gb+(2)512MB DDR2(50% Overclock/4-4-4-12@400MHz)
  • HDD: (2)WDC WD2500KS SATA/Total=464GB@7,200rpm
  • Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (512Mb)






Click it if I helped.

  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 06:03 PM   #11
mark1210
n00b
 
mark1210 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thx for looking into it - I downloaded fuzzyband (version 4.0-b4) and it shows my bootloader as being 06.04 (G2M3S2) and baseband as ICE2-05.13.04. It then says Not Supported. I assume its because of the radio and not the bootloader?
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 06-20-2010, 08:27 PM   #12
psychozev69
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
psychozev69's Avatar
 
psychozev69 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 3G
iOS Version: 3.1.2
iTunes Version: iTunes 9
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows 7
Location: TN
Posts: 316
Thanks: 297
Thanked 201 Times in 69 Posts
I guess that means a no go until the new iOS is out and the new JB/UnLock tools show up.
I aquired my 3G as a refurb and it had bootloader 06.04.
05.08 is the latest BB compatible with FuzzyBand.
I would say before next saturday all the tools needed will be available.
Just hope these new tools will fix the issue.

This thread mentions hope for the new JB/UnLock:

iPhone Firmware 3.1.3 and 4.0 Unlock Release Seems Imminent - SiNfuL iPhone
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate/32bit
  • Motherboard: Asus P5B-Deluxe+WiFi
  • CPU: Intel® Core 2 Duo E6400/Conroe-2M(50% Overclock@3.20GHz)
  • RAM: (4)Corsair XMS2/(2)1Gb+(2)512MB DDR2(50% Overclock/4-4-4-12@400MHz)
  • HDD: (2)WDC WD2500KS SATA/Total=464GB@7,200rpm
  • Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (512Mb)






Click it if I helped.


Last edited by psychozev69; 06-20-2010 at 08:36 PM.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 08-10-2010, 07:37 PM   #13
bestbids101
n00b
 
bestbids101 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 4.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Mac OS X
Location: Florida
Posts: 19
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
hey... i know its pretty late and maybe you solved your problem already and i don't know if this will help you but this exact same thing happened to me yesterday and it happened right after i installed a cracked app (ECHOFON PRO) from installous. i kept getting the same message on iTunes every time i connected the phone to my MAC... i tried rebooting and it didn't work but since i noticed that it happened right after i installed the app i just deleted the app and rebooted the phone and everything went back to normal.

hope this helps...
  Reply With Quote

 piece of cake
Unread 08-10-2010, 07:47 PM   #14
rjan22
Obsessive MyselfDiscorder
 
rjan22 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: iPhone 5S
iOS Version: 7.0
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows 8 x64
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 519
Thanks: 26
Thanked 158 Times in 65 Posts
piece of cake

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark1210 View Post
Not sure what has happened here - I keep getting "There is a problem with your iPhone - We're sorry the phone you have connected appears to be damaged....". I'm running 3.1.3 that was jailbroken. My 3GS has the old MC v bootrom. Putting the phone in DFU mode and restoring does not resolve the error. I have my SHSH blobs backup and have gone all the way back to 3.0 and still get the error.

What triggered this and how do I fix?? I've tried iTunes 9.1 on Windows 7 and iTunes 9.2 on my Mac....same issue.

I've also tried to restore to stock 3.1.3 firmware and the same iTunes screen appears saying it's damaged, the phone still functions and activates fine but its alarming and makes it rather difficult to sell...
connect the iphone
go to device manager on my computer
go to portable device
right click on apple iphone
update the driver
choose i have browse the file
go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple
click ok
dance like nobody is watching you lol
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
damaged, itunes, unable to activate

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:23 PM.

Copyright © 2009 ––––•(SiNfulSS)•–––- Shot Caller @ SiNfuL iPhone