You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    

Go Back   SiNfuL iPhone > Discussion | Help > How-To: Guides / Tutorials > iPhone > iPhone 3GS

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools

 Fix GPS On Baseband 6.15
Unread 07-02-2012, 05:01 AM   #1
3GSuser
n00b
 
3GSuser is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: iPhone 3GS
iOS Version: 5.1.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Windows XP
Location: jytjtyeh
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fix GPS On Baseband 6.15

Hi there,
I think I've just found a fix for GPS issue, and decided sharing it with you.
I'll tell you all the things I've done. Don't know if there is something unnecessary but I recommend not ignoring things to be sure it will work.
I haven't tested it in driving yet, but on maps it shows my exact location and while walking in streets it follows you. Besides, navigation programs that always said "no GPS signal" before don't say that now.

Needless to say that you do all at your own risk.

My 3GS is old bootrom and running custom iOS 5.1.1 which was made by sn0wbreeze 2.9.6.
Download Springtomize 2 from Cydia.
Open up settings, tap on Springtomize and then Capabilities. Enable Use Custom, scroll down and enable GPS (don't forget to enable all the other things you use, like SMS, contacts etc). Respring / reboot.
Turn on WiFi. Of course it shouldn't be connected to any hotspot, just leave it on. My 3G and data are also turned on but I don't know if it's important.
Enable location services and try some GPS program (if you try maps don't forget tapping the little arrow in the left bottom). Be outside so the phone will be able connecting to the satellite.

Hope it works for you, let me know.
If it doesn't, report only if you tried on 3GS with same conditions like mine (custom 5.1.1 from sn0wbreeze 2.9.6 etc) and you did everything I wrote.

Last edited by 3GSuser; 07-02-2012 at 07:06 AM.
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 3GSuser For This Useful Post:
yasirehsan (12-30-2012)

 
Unread 07-02-2012, 05:13 AM   #2
l8ter
Ex S-Mod
 
l8ter is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Other
iOS Version: 5.1.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: o2
OS: Windows 7
Location: -------------------------
Posts: 4,491
Thanks: 1,793
Thanked 3,487 Times in 1,574 Posts
You heard that you can downgrade the ipad baseband with the latest redsnow version , right ? You did ? Did you ?

So i need to ask you ( you would do the same in my place) , who should use this tut ?

If you have problems with 06.15.00 then downgrade it damnit instead of fixing a baseband vesion that was not supposed to be run on certain idevices.

Nice attempt but if you see it the way i see it , more or less unnecessary.


  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 07-02-2012, 08:27 PM   #3
bianchin69
Rockin my Jailbroken i5
 
bianchin69's Avatar
 
bianchin69 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: iPhone 5
iOS Version: 7.0
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: Australia mate
Posts: 3,337
Thanks: 1,472
Thanked 1,384 Times in 944 Posts
I have a better way
Download the latest redsnow from the front page and down grade you 6.15.00 bb to an unlockble one at the same time fixing your gps

Catch a man a fish and he will eat for a day.Teach a man to fish and he will eat for ever.
[GUIDE]/How to fix Safemode Loop and 90% of Problems - SiNfuL iPhone

If I or anyone else have helped you ...
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bianchin69 For This Useful Post:
kingof9x (07-05-2012)

 
Unread 07-02-2012, 10:53 PM   #4
3GSuser
n00b
 
3GSuser is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: iPhone 3GS
iOS Version: 5.1.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Windows XP
Location: jytjtyeh
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchin69 View Post
I have a better way
Download the latest redsnow from the front page and down grade you 6.15.00 bb to an unlockble one at the same time fixing your gps
There are devices that it won't work for them, look at update 2 (I probably have one of them, my baseband is not downgraded.).
So for those cases it's a good temporary solution.
Yeah, it's not perfect. I've tested it in driving and your location updates every couple of seconds and not immediately, it doesn't follow you perfectly. I guess while walking I didn't notice that because your movement is way slower and it was looked normal.
Yet, it's better than a dead GPS, isn't it?
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 07-02-2012, 11:06 PM   #5
bianchin69
Rockin my Jailbroken i5
 
bianchin69's Avatar
 
bianchin69 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: iPhone 5
iOS Version: 7.0
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: Australia mate
Posts: 3,337
Thanks: 1,472
Thanked 1,384 Times in 944 Posts
Sorry I wasn't aware of that
Good find but I think you are still getting your location from cell towers and wifi
I could be wrong though because I dont have a 6.15 bb phone to test on

Catch a man a fish and he will eat for a day.Teach a man to fish and he will eat for ever.
[GUIDE]/How to fix Safemode Loop and 90% of Problems - SiNfuL iPhone

If I or anyone else have helped you ...
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 07-05-2012, 06:32 AM   #6
3GSuser
n00b
 
3GSuser is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: iPhone 3GS
iOS Version: 5.1.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Windows XP
Location: jytjtyeh
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Happily, the Dev-Team has released a new update for redsn0w and all the users that tried downgrading unsuccessfully will be able to do so now. I downgraded mine.
I guess there's no need for my method anymore, downgrade your baseband.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.

Copyright 2009 (SiNfulSS)- Shot Caller @ SiNfuL iPhone