You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    

Go Back   SiNfuL iPhone > Discussion | Help > iTunes

Notices

iTunes iTunes Discussion | Help | Downloads

Reply
Thread Tools

 can you make itunes forget a device?
Unread 12-07-2011, 04:42 PM   #1
ztorque
iPhoneaholic
 
ztorque is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.0.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: fl
Posts: 149
Thanks: 116
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
can you make itunes forget a device?

is there a way to make itunes forget my iphone and start from scratch is so how
thanks
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-07-2011, 05:03 PM   #2
WIDOW
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
WIDOW's Avatar
 
WIDOW is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: iPhone 4S
iOS Version: 5.0
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Vodafone
OS: Windows 7
Location: MANCHESTER
Posts: 9,860
Thanks: 191
Thanked 37,052 Times in 6,047 Posts
Depends what you want to do? If u want a fresh start but keep you apps go to the install directory and copy over to a folder then delete the install directory . In windows start /control panes /program and features delete anything and everything names apple u and click at the top it will list alphabetically delete everything and I mean every bonjour ect you will have several entries, even safari browser if you have it reboot the computer ( very Important)reinstall itunes it will also install all the new drivers ect then copy your file over from the folder you made u can do all in 1 go

Hope this helps
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WIDOW For This Useful Post:
ztorque (12-08-2011)

 
Unread 12-07-2011, 08:45 PM   #3
mohseen
-::Kabul, Afg::-
 
mohseen's Avatar
 
mohseen is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 4S
iOS Version: 5.1.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: Other
OS: Windows 7
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 889
Thanks: 546
Thanked 200 Times in 126 Posts
never forget to delete music/itunes
Current iDevices:

NONE

Sold iDevices
:
iPhone 4S 32GB Factory Unlocked iOS 6.1 untether JB Evasi0n latest
iPhone 4 32GB iOS 5.0.1 Factory Unlock
iPhone 3G 8GB iOS 3.1.3 custom fw
Computer: DELL Inspiron 5110 Fedora Core 11
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 12:10 AM   #4
WIDOW
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
WIDOW's Avatar
 
WIDOW is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: iPhone 4S
iOS Version: 5.0
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Vodafone
OS: Windows 7
Location: MANCHESTER
Posts: 9,860
Thanks: 191
Thanked 37,052 Times in 6,047 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohseen View Post
never forget to delete music/itunes
That is 1 I never do as only have on what I like so a itunes restore from fresh loads back on once you tick the sync box.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 07:50 AM   #5
ztorque
iPhoneaholic
 
ztorque is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.0.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: fl
Posts: 149
Thanks: 116
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIDOW View Post
Depends what you want to do? If u want a fresh start but keep you apps go to the install directory and copy over to a folder then delete the install directory . In windows start /control panes /program and features delete anything and everything names apple u and click at the top it will list alphabetically delete everything and I mean every bonjour ect you will have several entries, even safari browser if you have it reboot the computer ( very Important)reinstall itunes it will also install all the new drivers ect then copy your file over from the folder you made u can do all in 1 go

Hope this helps
ok this is the problem that im having i recenly i got a new iphone 4 when i sync it to itunes ask me if i want it to back up to latest iphone back up or treat it as new so i chose lates back up iphone which was my old iphone 3g and now when it finish i lost facetime and celullar data network tap now i manage to fix the cellular data tap but not facetime now im worry that if i sync again may lose the cellular data tap again. what should i do.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
zGg
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
zGg's Avatar
 
zGg is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 6.1.3
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: Verizon
OS: Windows 7 x64
Location: P.A.
Posts: 836
Thanks: 53
Thanked 292 Times in 178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztorque View Post
ok this is the problem that im having i recenly i got a new iphone 4 when i sync it to itunes ask me if i want it to back up to latest iphone back up or treat it as new so i chose lates back up iphone which was my old iphone 3g and now when it finish i lost facetime and celullar data network tap now i manage to fix the cellular data tap but not facetime now im worry that if i sync again may lose the cellular data tap again. what should i do.
I recommend not to restore from backup if the backup is from a device that old. Restore setup as new and start all over, and in the future, restore from that backup, it's a pain, but it's worth it. Restoring from a backup from a device that old could cause problem itself. There are so many changes in the OS.
~~~~~iPhone 4 (CDMA)_iOS 6.1.3_p0sixspwn 1.0.7~~iPad 2_iOS 7.0.4_evasi0n 7 1.0.2~~~~~
Compaq Laptop, Windows 7
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 01:23 PM   #7
ztorque
iPhoneaholic
 
ztorque is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.0.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: fl
Posts: 149
Thanks: 116
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGg View Post
I recommend not to restore from backup if the backup is from a device that old. Restore setup as new and start all over, and in the future, restore from that backup, it's a pain, but it's worth it. Restoring from a backup from a device that old could cause problem itself. There are so many changes in the OS.
ok thanks but how do i make itunes to tell me restore from new device when allready run back up from old iphone.

how do i start from scrach, do i need to restore my iphone if so how do i restore without losing current version.

thanks

Last edited by ztorque; 12-08-2011 at 01:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 01:38 PM   #8
zGg
Obsessive iPhone Disorder
 
zGg's Avatar
 
zGg is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 6.1.3
iTunes Version: iTunes 11
Carrier: Verizon
OS: Windows 7 x64
Location: P.A.
Posts: 836
Thanks: 53
Thanked 292 Times in 178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztorque View Post
ok thanks but how do i make itunes to tell me restore from new device when allready run back up from old iphone.

how do i start from scrach, do i need to restore my iphone if so how do i restore without losing current version.

thanks
You have to restore again.lol.

Just restore your phone, when it'd done, a page will come up in iTunes asking to to restore from backup or setup as new. This page only comes up after your phone has been restored.

---------- EDIT ----------

Then makes sure you uncheck everything. All then little boxes that say sync whatever whatever, make sure nothing gets synced to your phone when that page comes up.

At first a page will pop up, where you give your device it's name. Put the name you want and uncheck all boxes under that. Make sure the nothing is going to get synced to your phone. Them choose setup as new on the next page. Let it sync. Makes sure ll the apps you want and music and stuff is backed up in iTunes before restoring.
~~~~~iPhone 4 (CDMA)_iOS 6.1.3_p0sixspwn 1.0.7~~iPad 2_iOS 7.0.4_evasi0n 7 1.0.2~~~~~
Compaq Laptop, Windows 7
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 01:40 PM   #9
kingof9x
\_(ツ)_/

 
kingof9x's Avatar
 
kingof9x is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Device: iPhone 5
iOS Version: 6.1.2
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: AT&T
OS: Windows XP
Location: your moms house
Posts: 3,257
Thanks: 1,766
Thanked 1,417 Times in 981 Posts
do you have your shsh blobs saved for the firmware you are trying to restore?

Thanks to x73x for my sig and avi
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 01:54 PM   #10
djmelee
Super Maderotor ??
 
djmelee's Avatar
 
djmelee is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: iPhone 4S
iOS Version: 5.1.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: o2
OS: Windows 7
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 4,131
Thanks: 832
Thanked 1,298 Times in 963 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingof9x View Post
do you have your shsh blobs saved for the firmware you are trying to restore?


Also, why not just delete all your backups too,

So it doesn't even ask to restore to one.
Game Center - Yetunyahoo
Yes I Am A Pirate, A Few Hundred Years Too Late.
'My dog updated my phone, what do I do??'
Will You Hit It?
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djmelee For This Useful Post:
kingof9x (12-08-2011)

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 01:55 PM   #11
Yumraaj
The One & Only
 
Yumraaj is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: iPhone 4S
iOS Version: 5.0.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: Origin Unknown
Posts: 2,140
Thanks: 530
Thanked 1,093 Times in 714 Posts
If your device is not jailbroken then do it on your phone itself. Go to setting, general, reset and click on erase all contents and settings.

!!! NEVER DO THIS IF YOUR DEVICE IS JAILBROKEN !!!
  Reply With Quote

 
Unread 12-08-2011, 02:34 PM   #12
ztorque
iPhoneaholic
 
ztorque is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: iPhone 4
iOS Version: 5.0.1
iTunes Version: iTunes 10
Carrier: Other
OS: Mac OS X
Location: fl
Posts: 149
Thanks: 116
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGg View Post
You have to restore again.lol.

Just restore your phone, when it'd done, a page will come up in iTunes asking to to restore from backup or setup as new. This page only comes up after your phone has been restored.

---------- EDIT ----------

Then makes sure you uncheck everything. All then little boxes that say sync whatever whatever, make sure nothing gets synced to your phone when that page comes up.

At first a page will pop up, where you give your device it's name. Put the name you want and uncheck all boxes under that. Make sure the nothing is going to get synced to your phone. Them choose setup as new on the next page. Let it sync. Makes sure ll the apps you want and music and stuff is backed up in iTunes before restoring.
Sorry for been so dummy but I'm new at this how to I restore the iphone with out losing the current version or jailbreak . Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingof9x View Post
do you have your shsh blobs saved for the firmware you are trying to restore?
I have them save with tinny umbrella I think but don't really know how to use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmelee View Post


Also, why not just delete all your backups too,

So it doesn't even ask to restore to one.
Because I still have old iphone and iPad 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yumraaj View Post
If your device is not jailbroken then do it on your phone itself. Go to setting, general, reset and click on erase all contents and settings.

!!! NEVER DO THIS IF YOUR DEVICE IS JAILBROKEN !!!
Yes is jailbroken
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.

Copyright 2009 (SiNfulSS)- Shot Caller @ SiNfuL iPhone